Southern Comfort Foods

Soup on a Cold Day? Yes Please

Hey Y’all.

I was getting ready to make lunch the other day before heading to work. I was dreading going to in, because it was just one of those days where you just want to stay in your pajamas cuddled up in a warm blanket watching reruns of The Andy Griffith Show. But that doesn’t pay the bills, so I got myself ready and went to the kitchen to fix something quick. I stood looking in the pantry for quite some time when I saw a can of Campbell’s Tomato Soup calling my name. It’s been quit chilly in Alabama the past few days, so I though what warms you up and puts you in a better mood than soup ? Well not much in my book. I grab the can of soup and quickly get it heating up on the stove.

Now, you can’t have tomato soup without a good buttery grilled cheese. So I got out the bread and cheese ( I used pepper jack cheese in this endeavor) and buttered the bread and put two slices of pepper jack cheese in the middle and a little mayo on one side of the bread. I put that on the stove and let the butter brown nicely on the bread and let the cheese get nice and gooey. So it was finally time to eat. I grabbed this cute little plate and soup bowl that my grandma gave me and plated the food up. I added a little bit of shredded cheddar cheese and some French’s  French Fried onions to the soup.  It was picture perfect and yummy. That soup and grilled cheese hit the spot.  Comfort food at it’s finest.

IMG_20151215_104645

 

Leave a Reply

